Our Team & Network

Venture Team

On a mission to find, invest in, and support Canada's best early-stage tech companies

Mark Skapinker


Mark has been a serial entrepreneur and investor in the Canadian software industry since the inception of the personal computer in the 1980s.

Sophie Forest


Being an entrepreneur herself and working to fund and grow early stage companies for over 20 years, Sophie knows venture inside and out.

Jacques Perreault


Over the past 20 years, Jacques has played leading roles in the financing, management, and M&A of Canadian technology companies.

Éléonore Jarry-Ferron


Deeply rooted in the Canadian tech ecosystem, Éléonore is a key voice in our deal flow and venture decision process.

Andrew Lugsdin


With 20+ years in venture capital, Andrew’s background includes Founding Partner roles at Framework Venture Partners and Unbound Equity.

Matthew He


Matt is responsible for expanding Brightspark's deal flow across Canada and supporting the venture decision process.

Thomas Tanguay-Sabourin

Investment Analyst

Thomas is part of Brightspark’s investment team and supports the business with deals and venture decisions.

Investor Relations

Registered exempt market dealers that support our investor network with their venture capital investments 

Alexandre Cabrejo-Jones

Head of Investor Relations

Alex ensures investors get the guidance that they need to make informed investment decisions. He helps cultivate and engage with our investor network, and grows our presence across Canada and Internationally.

Alexandre Douville

Investor Relations

Alexandre helps onboard and nurture our growing network of investors, as well as support our fund operations team.

Operations and Innovation

The Brightspark team is ambitious, curious and tech-obsessed

Ab Fadel

Head of Technology

Ab leads Brightspark's technology vision and product engineering. He's been building successful tech companies since he was a teenager.

Audrey Ostiguy

Chief Compliance Officer

Audrey leads compliance policies and initiatives for Brightspark while also operationalizing new projects and providing legal support.

Elena Pavel

Head of Finance

As Brightspark’s Head of Finance, Elena oversees all financial aspects of the business to insure its financial health and long-term growth.

Émilie Parker Jones

Head of Growth

Émilie spearheads Brightspark’s growth initiatives through product marketing, content, and events for the investor community.

Caroline Rheault

Financial Controller

As Financial controller, Caroline is responsible for ensuring the management and coordination of Brightspark's financial processes.

Alexandra Johnstone

Marketing & Communications Manager

Alexandra drives marketing and communication that builds distinctiveness and company reputation for Brightspark.


This extension of the Brightspark family brings invaluable expertise.

Tony Davis

CEO at Safrye Labs

Salim Teja

Partner at Radical Ventures

Mark Lahn

Finance Accounting Consultant

Ray Newal

Managing Director, Capital and Ecosystem at MaRS

CEOs of our portfolio companies

Frederic Lalonde

CEO, Hopper

Lindsey Goodchild

CEO, Nudge Rewards

Ian Collins

CEO, Wysdom.AI

Dr. Neil Sarkar

Co-founder, CEO and president, AdHawk Microsystems

Shawn Young

CEO, Classcraft

Tim Szeto

CEO, Nano Magnetics

Tony Mastronardi

Founder and CEO, BuyBack Booth

Daniel Cohen

CEO, Valence Discovery

Tim Angus

CEO, Brickeye

Rodolphe Barrere

CEO and Founder, Potloc

Amin Jadavji

CEO, Martian Farms

Sam Poirier

CEO, Potential Motors

Nicolas Morency

CEO, PreVu3D

Kevin R. Hart

Founder and CEO, TZOA

Yves Poiré

Co-Founder and President, Optable

Mark Bordo

Co-Founder and CEO, Vetster

Mark Rowan

CEO and Co-Founder, Data Sentinel

Catherine Metrycki

Founder and CEO

Alumni & Community

Alan Lysne

Previously CEO @ Cascada

Allen Lau

Previously co-founder @ Tira Wireless

Anthony Lipschitz

Previously CEO @ iStopOver

Elaine Kunda

Previously CEO @ B5 Media

Jamie True

Previously CEO @ Grapple Mobile

Leonard Brody

Previously CEO @ NowPublic

Mahshad Koohgoli

Previously CEO @ Protecode

Marcel Lebrun

Previously CEO @ Radian6

Matt Golden

Previously co-founder @ Tira Wireless

Randy Busch

Previously CEO @ Jazinga

Pierre Donaldson

Previously CEO @ nGuvu